Five things i'm paying attention to right now

To celebrate our 5th edition! <3

Happy Tuesday

It’s our 5th edition of The Signal in a written format & to celebrate I wanted to experiment with a different style. Let’s get intimate & let me share whats been on my mind over the month of August.

1 - the reality of having infinite choices
Let’s start with the popular Netflix analogy. Have you ever sat there & looked at 101 different choices of shows & movies, looked over at your partner & proclaimed “theres nothing to watch!”

I have, it’s not fun & your brain feels completely drained. I still remember when TV had 3-5 channels & it felt like there was always something good on. This is in no small part a function of information overload & decision fatigue (A major reason the likes of zuck choose to wear the same clothes everyday - one less decision to make)

Recently i’ve caught myself in crisis a couple of times thinking “shit, thats a great idea maybe I should be focused on that” endlessly spinning up scenarios in my mind of all the things I could do.

Feeling slightly disillusioned with my choices & current path I’d end up losing steam & sacrificing focus on my core business often to not get anything done at all besides running circles in my mind.

Eventually I catch myself & realise that this is short term thinking - not a habit I like to encourage or allow myself to indulge in. Short term thinking makes us believe if we don’t do it NOW we will never get the chance to. Long term thinking reveals the truth that if we focus on one thing for a couple of years & then try another thing for a couple of years, we can build things that are systemised & experience them for all their depth before leaning into something else.

“You can do everything just not all at the same time”

This realisation has given me the peace required for me to focus on what i’m doing, rest when its time to rest, play when its time to play & simply keep a journal of all the other things I will do when the time is right.

This gives me a level of power, certainty & energy that is infectious & palpable to the people around me.

So the question is - “What are you focused on & for what amount of time before you allow yourself to consider anything else?”

2 - tracking attendance at major global crypto events : a macro signal that the bottom is in?
The Bitcoin 2023 conference in Miami has dropped to 15,000 from 35,000 only the year before - thats more than a 60% drop (kinda like BTC’s 60% drop)

Even NFT NYC went from raising $23.5M in sponsorships for 2022 to only $3.5M in 2023

Which means that our efforts of NFT Bali from 2022 - 2023 is a little bit of an outlier considering we grew about 60% & also increased our profitability by 5% where all other crypto related events seem to have decreased dramatically.

In our short crypto history we’ve been able to observe that whenever the bear is really in a deep winter - the crypto events have been much less well attended.

Perhaps the bottom is in? ;)

NOTE : our style of event is very different to the commercial ones focused on selling large amounts of tickets - ours is focused on quality of experience for a group of 200 people maximum.

3 - Know thyself & watching your inner monologue
Ever seen that video where the actor from prison break was like “whenever I’d make a mistake or fail at something my inner voice would say stuff like - you fucking idiot, how could you do that, you’re such a failure why do you even try - & he went on to observe that if he spoke like that to his friends, he wouldn’t have any friends. So the first thing you’ve got to do is become your own best friend.

This relates to the 4 needs of the heart (Affirmation, acceptance, appreciation & approval)

When the needs of the heart are met internally, we no longer need to seek externally from others & our hearts are more open - allowing us to better connect with other people with more depth, peace & less of an agenda (which is great for everyone)

Typically i’m great at this but once in a while when i’ve let my practice slip, a darker version of self comes through. One that is far more judgemental & mean.

Which in turn becomes a lower quality of life & subsequently a lower quality of output across the board. At work, at home & everywhere in between.

Since actively speaking to myself internally with the 4 A’s i’m becoming increasingly vibrant, energetic & inspired to create. Give it a shot & let me know what you think.

4 - Ageing & responsibility
My partner has been speaking to me about kids recently & as someone who was raised by a young mom that never had it easy, I wonder if we’re prepared to bring a whole new human into the world.

The fears of making the same mistakes - or even worse ones are ever present.

The anxiety of not knowing if providing for another human is within our “budget”

I don’t just mean financially - instead, how present will we be? Would we be a great example of who to be? Or would we end up examples of what they wish to avoid?

A friend sent me a reel the other day & it was talking about how the mortality rate of our ancestors was around 30 years old & that i’m about to be 30 - despite having a much longer average life span these days, it got me thinking.

I’ve been aware that I really want to get better at how I take care of my physical fitness, mobility & longevity - noticing that my knee is nowhere near what it used to be can be a scary experience.

Feeling injured & vulnerable is a weird one & a wonderful way of my body telling me it’s time to make a few lasting changes (hence the habit tracker in our last article)

5 - Legacy, systems & the reason I got into business.
When I used to think of Legacy I would wish to have my death felt by the whole world, kinda like when Michael Jackson passed away or Kobe or any of the greats you remember.

I figured I wanted to be read about like Seneca for thousands of years after i’d passed - or perhaps even like Jesus.

Though the truth thats more likely is that the last generation that really talks about me will be my grandchildren or great grandchildren if i’m lucky

That got me thinking about whats really important to me & it actually ties into why I got into business in the first place.

I want to be remembered as someone who inspired the people around him to live joyfully, freely & explore the world. That old bastard who was always making the people around him laugh & think bigger. The greatest dad who seemed to know a little bit about everything in the world & was always supporting people to be their best & truest selves - not what anyone else wanted them to be.

To do all of this I knew I’d need time, creative & location freedom.

All of which I believed I needed to be ultra rich to achieve

The truth is however far closer to reality than I’ve ever allowed myself to believe.

You can have time, creative & location freedom long before you have true financial freedom - you can do it by building a business that sustains the lifestyle of your dreams.

Which simply requires you to be deeply honest with yourself about what you really want & why - it requires a death of the ego of dreams that have been sold to you by the entities that wish for you to buy their goods & services to live a better life.

It requires a deep understanding of the simplicity & true abundance of this big cosmic experiment that the universe is creating.

As you can see, i’ve been doing a lot of internal work recently & this is already beginning to show results across the board with my businesses.

Always remember, your business system is an extension of your nervous system - if you’re feeling a “lack” so too will your business. If you feel pressured, so too will your business.

Your greatest leverage point is ensuring you feel great & to do this you must achieve “alignment” otherwise described as when your intentions, desires & actions are matching up with purpose.

If you’re struggling with any of the same stuff - lets talk about it 🙂 I can help

Best,
Tyrone

P.S shout out to all the new subscribers - I read all the replies & it’s been wonderful hearing from you all.

if you’re new here check out our recent articles

1 : Building a lifestyle business
2 : Why you should live with high performing individuals
3 : What to do when you catch yourself slipping
4 : 7 day challenge to feel prime - the habit tracker